by Allen J. Sheinman | November 18, 2014

A program run by the National Trust for Historic Preservation, Historic Hotels of America (, has just added 24 "new" members to its illustrious role of venerable properties, more than 260 to date. Here are the two dozen of the class of 2014, listed in the order they were built:

• Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza (1625), Santa Fe, N.M.; converted from a 300-year-old hacienda
• Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch (1888); converted from the former Merchant Laclède National Bank
• Airlie (1892), Warrenton, Va.; converted from a picturesque farm
• Le Méridien Tampa (1905), Fla.; converted from a century-old federal courthouse
• Seelbach Hilton (1905), Louisville, Ky.
• Southern Hotel (1907), Covington, La.; converted from the Grand Lodge of Louisiana’s Masonic Temple
• Condado Vanderbilt Hotel (1919), San Juan, Puerto Rico
• The Drake Hotel (1920), Chicago
• Hilton Fort Worth (1921), Texas
• Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue (1926)
• Hilton President Kansas City (1926), Mo.
• Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center (1927), La.
• Hilton Chicago (1927)
• Hilton Orrington/Evanston (1927), Ill.
• The Westin Portland Harborview (1927), Maine
• Hilton Boston Downtown/Faneuil Hall (1928), Boston; converted from Boston’s first art deco skyscraper office building
• Abraham Lincoln Reading Hotel (1930) Reading, Pa.
• Hilton Manhattan East (1931), N.Y.
• Chateau at the Oregon Caves National Monument (1935), Cave Junction, Ore.
• Capital Hilton (1943), Washington, D.C.
• The Edgewater (1948), Madison, Wis.
• Caribe Hilton San Juan (1949), San Juan, Puerto Rico
• Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, Honolulu (1961), Hawaii
• The Condado Plaza Hilton (1963), San Juan, Puerto Rico

Source: Historic Hotels of America