by Lisa A. Grimaldi | July 08, 2016

The U.S. Department of Transportation has proposed eight U.S. carriers -- Alaska Airlines, American Airlines, Delta Air Lines, Frontier Airlines, JetBlue Airways, Southwest Airlines, Spirit Airlines and United Airlines -- to begin scheduled flights to Havana, Cuba, as early as this fall. Under the proposal, service to Havana would be allowed from Atlanta; Charlotte, N.C.; Fort Lauderdale; Houston; Los Angeles; Miami; Newark, N.J.; New York City; Orlando; and Tampa, Fla. The DOT expects to reach a final decision later this summer, following a period where other carriers can file objections, which will then be answered by July 29, 2016. The proposal comes a year after the United States and Cuba reestablished diplomatic relations in July 2015.

"Today we take another important step toward delivering on President Obama's promise to re-engage Cuba," said U.S. Transportation Secretary Anthony Foxx. "Restoring regular air service holds tremendous potential to reunite Cuban American families, and foster education and opportunities for American businesses of all sizes."

The tentative decision and other documents in the case are available online at, docket DOT-OST-2016-0021.