May 09, 2018
The Events Industry Council will induct four new meeting professionals into its prestigious Hall of Leaders. Selected from a large group of nominees, the leaders will be inducted into the Hall of Leaders -- which currently has 114 members -- in October at the 2018 Hall of Leaders and Pacesetter Awards Celebration, held during the IMEX America trade show in Las Vegas.

"To be able to recognize such impactful leaders in our history is a true privilege and we couldn't be more excited to honor these awardees," said Karen Kotowski, CEO of the EIC. "Each notable in their own right, these individuals have made invaluable contributions to our industry and we cannot wait to come together to celebrate each of them in Las Vegas this fall."

In order to be considered for the Hall of Leaders, nominees must have "substantively contributed to the industry" and demonstrated "versatility through a range of actions that have impacted and redefined meetings, conventions, exhibitions and/or travel."

Chosen by an EIC selection committee, and approved by the EIC board of directors, this year's Hall of Leaders inductees are:

Corbin Ball of Corbin Ball & Co, an expert on meetings technology;
Henry Givray, chair of SmithBucklin;
Edward Liu, group managing director of CEMS Singapore; and
Deborah Sexton of DLS and Associates, and former president and CEO of the Professional Convention Management Association.

Established in 1985, the hall honors inductees at the Hall of Leaders Recognition Pavilion in Washington, D.C.'s Walter E. Washington Convention Center and on the walls of Chicago's McCormick Place convention center.

At the banquet in October, the EIC also will recognize the three recipients of its annual Pacesetter Awards, which were launched in 2012 to acknowledge "emerging leaders and industry supporters who exhibit individual excellence based on innovation, impact, vision, leadership, influence, collaboration, courage, perseverance, and other achievements." This year's recipients are:

Jeff Chase of Freeman, who will be recognized in the "Sustainability & Corporate Social Responsibility" category;
Zena Phillips of Hilton Worldwide, who will be recognized in the "Innovation" category; and
Jessie States of Meeting Professionals International, who will be recognized in the "Young Professional" category.