by Michael J. Shapiro | May 04, 2017
The Professional Convention Management Association Education Foundation honored seven meeting professionals last night for their professional excellence and contributions to the industry. The black-tie awards ceremony and gala was held at the Marriott Marquis in Washington, D.C.
Following are the winners of the Professional Excellence Awards:
• The Meeting Professional of the Year is Danielle L. Urbina, director of meetings and exhibits with the American Society of Anesthesiologists. This award honors a PCMA professional member who exemplifies professional excellence in their contributions to their organization, as well as to PCMA and the business-events community. According to PCMA, Urbina is a dedicated member of the organization and the industry, who is passionate about medical meetings and is always striving to expand her knowledge and contribute to the industry's future. She also serves as adjunct faculty at Roosevelt University in Chicago, and this year she began managing ASA's growing international meetings initiatives, in addition to the society's national meetings.
• The Event Designer of the Year is Megan D. Tate, CMM, vice president, meeting and event planning manager with Wells Fargo. Tate was honored for her innovative event design at her previous position with Petco - specifically for the Petco Leadership Summit, which, according to Petco, was all about the people rather than the company. The summit attendees reportedly returned to their stores with renewed passion.
• The Supplier of the Year is Jennifer L. Erney, CMP, CASE, director of global accounts-meetings and events with Accor Hotels AccorHotels. Erney is known for her professionalism and strong client relationships, as well as for being a true industry advocate. She currently is working on her CMM certification.
• The Community Advocate of the Year is Peter C. O'Brien, CASE, global account executive with the Marriott Global Sales Organization. He was recognized for implementing the Service in Sync program at the Greater DC Food Bank, as well as for reinstating the popular USO Care Package assembly program.
PCMA also celebrated three honorees with the 2017 Lifetime Achievement Award. The winners, who were announced last year, included the following.
• The 2017 Meeting Professional Honoree is Martin (Marty) Balogh, associate executive director, meetings and travel group, of the American Bar Association.
• The 2017 Educator Honoree is Carol Krugman, MEd, CMP, CMM, chair of the Department of Hospitality, Tourism & Events, at the Metropolitan State University of Denver.
• The 2017 Supplier Honoree is Barry Smith, president and CEO of the Metro Toronto Convention Centre.
"Our 2017 honorees and award winners' accomplishments serve as inspiration to both industry veterans and novices alike," said Deborah Sexton, president and CEO of PCMA. "Each an expert in their profession - always endeavoring to lead the advancement of their organizations and the business-events industry."