by Sarah J.F. Braley | July 07, 2010

The Convention Industry Council has appointed a new slate of industry experts to the Accepted Practices Exchange (APEX) Leadership Council. The group's focus has been redefined to address adoption, communication outreach and product development for the best practices that have been identified. In particular, the council will be completing and launching the APEX/ASTM Environmentally Sustainable Meeting Standards. The council now is chaired by Teri Tonioli, CMP, of Experient. She is joined by Victoria Ascione, CMP, CMM, of Bacardi U.S.A. Inc.; Deborah Breitner, from the Rosen College of Hospitality Management at the University of Central Florida; Dave Dvorak, representing Starwood Hotels; Maura Gast, executive director of the Irving Convention and Visitors Bureau; Scott Gillespie, author of Gillespie's Guide to Travel+Procurement; Joyce Inderbitzin, CMP, representing Hilton Hotels Corp.; Kimberly Meyer of Meeting Analytics; Doug McPhee, CMP, from Experient; Bob Moore, from the Gaylord National Resort and Convention Center; Kelly Peacy, CMP, of the Professional Convention Management Association; and Janet Sperstad, CMP, from the Madison Area Technical College.