April 23, 2008

The U.S. Department of Homeland Security took steps Friday to further expand the Visa Waiver Program. DHS Secretary Michael Chertoff signed a Memorandum of Understanding with the Republic of Korea, making that nation the eighth to sign such an agreement this year. The list also includes the Czech Republic, Estonia, Latvia, Slovakia, Hungary, Lithuania and Malta. Travelers from these countries will be able to come to the U.S. for 90 days or less without a visa when new, stricter security measures have been established. Those measures finally might be defined by year's end, according to the DHS. The Visa Waiver Program currently includes 27 countries from Asia and Europe.