March 19, 2008

On Monday, the Department of Homeland Security took steps to further expand its Visa Waiver Program, when secretary Michael Chertoff signed memoranda of understanding with Slovakia, Hungary and Lithuania. Chertoff signed agreements with Estonia and Latvia last week, which should put those countries on track to become part of the program as well. These agreements represent the first steps toward official acceptance into the program. Citizens of these nations will likely be able to travel to the U.S. without a visa by later this year.